Stone County History

After the War of 1812, pioneers began to move west. Arkansas soon began to grow due to our forefather’s desire for land and opportunity as well as payment for their military service to the United States. Arkansas Territory was created in 1819 consisting of only five counties, and the area where Stone County is located today was originally part of Lawrence County. As the territory grew, more counties began to appear, and in 1836 Arkansas was accepted into the Union as a slave state. In 1873, Stone County originated from its parent counties of Izard, Independence, Searcy, and Van Buren.

Visit the Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture for more on the history of Stone County.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s